Time Management: How To Stop Wasting Your Precious Hours

A few years ago, I found myself missing out on very important events, because I was “so busy”. At the same time, I came to realize that I was barely getting anything productive accomplished. I was always tired, I felt overworked, and I had no idea what I was doing wrong. I was working full-time (40 hrs a week) and going to school full-time (21 hours a week). I was staying up very late… Whether it was for homework or partying, I wasn’t going to sleep until early the next morning. Finally, one day out of pure boredom, I did the math to see how many hours a day I was wasting. Once I saw the results, I got my act together, and it changed my life.

Laurabdaytagged-9

B A S I C  T I M E  M A N A G E M E N T 

Lets break the hours in a week down to basic numbers:

There are 24 hours in a day. 7 days in a week. 24 x 7 = 168.

So, there are 168 hours in a week

I know, it’s odd to think about it that way. 168 hours doesn’t seem very long, and sometimes weeks can feel like they last forever, depending on what you have on your agenda. Nevertheless, There are 168 hours in a week, nothing more or less.

IMG_20120417_165432

S L E E P  &  W O R K

Sleep and work are the two categories that consume most of your time, even though most people don’t get enough sleep.

The National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute recommends seven to eight hours of sleep for healthy adults, including the elderly. Most current guidelines say school-age children should get at least 10 hours of sleep a night, and teenagers, nine to 10 hours. It is also recommended to avoid alcohol, caffeine, and eating large meals late at night.

For most people who are employed full-time, work can last anywhere from 40 to 60+ hours per week. Part-time employment can have such a wide range that it wouldn’t be helpful to explore that option here.

With all that being said: Sleep should be 8 hours a day, 56 hours a week. Work can have a wide range, but we will focus on 10 hours a day, 50 hours a week.

T H E  B R E A K D O W N

There are 168 hours in a week. 56 of those hours are spent sleeping and 50 of those are spent working. 168 – 56(sleep) = 112 hours | 112 – 50(work) = 62 hours.

Screen shot 2015-02-01 at 5.11.31 PM

There you have it! The number of free time hours you have every week… 62 hours. Before you say it, I know you’re thinking..”that only happens in a perfect world”. You’re right! And, this is far from a perfect world. But, there is no denying that you have about 6 hours on your work days to things that are not sleeping or working, and 16 hours on your off days to utilize. Whether you are volunteering, attending classes, shopping, writing a book, making music, starting your own business, exploring the world, taking over the world, playing sports, fighting grizzly bears, juggling fire balls, doing the moonwalk, or spending time with loved ones…YOU HAVE JUST ABOUT 62 HOURS IN YOUR WEEK TO DO SO. 

T I P S  F O R  S U C C E S S  T I M E  M A N A G E M E N T

  • Make a to-do list everyday (most important tasks at the top)
  • Use your travel time wisely (research while taking the bus or train)
  • Don’t be afraid to say no (you don’t have to do everything this week)
  • Find you productive time (are you a morning or night person)
  • Disconnect from the world during your productive time (you’ll be okay)
  • Budget your time (create a weekly schedule to follow)
  • Don’t get sidetracked (stay focused on your goals)
  • Get enough sleep (Z’s, catch them!)

IMG_20140130_111417

If you find this post at all helpful, please show your support by commenting below and sharing this     on your social networks. Follow Thisisfoure on Facebook, Instagram,Twitter,Soundcloud, & Youtube.

THANKS FOR READING
Thisisfoure

Say Something...

